Sunday, February 26th – On my way!


At the Richmond airport

It’s not easy to get to Anchorage from Richmond!  It all started with a very early flight (my family is awesome – they all got up and trekked to the airport with me at 4:00 a.m. to see me off!).  The first leg to Washington D.C. was fairly smooth after they solved what the pilot termed, “a minor computer problem.”  It was a tiny, tiny plane though and I was happy to land safely in D.C.

From there I had a 6 hour flight to Seattle.  Six hours is a long time but thankfully it was fairly smooth.  There was a lot of cloud cover during much of the flight, but every now and then there would be a break and WOW! What a view!  As we got closer and closer to Seattle the flat land turned to mountains with LOTS of snow.

Flight to Seattle

The Seattle airport was packed!  After grabbing a $10 sandwich (yikes!) I boarded the last leg of the flight to Anchorage.  This leg was about 3 and a half hours and was much, much bumpier than the one to Seattle.  The cloud cover was very thick and we left Seattle in snow and arrived into Anchorage under a blizzard warning.  Some areas got up to 2 feet of snow although it was just a light snow in Anchorage.

I had planned to drive to Seward tomorrow to participate in an Exit Glacier tour with the Seavey’s, but the weather is too treacherous to attempt what is already a dangerous 2 hour drive.  I’m so disappointed as I was really looking forward to it, but the Fur Rondy Festival is going on in Anchorage so I will check that out instead!

I’m all settled in the hotel and it’s still snowing – the view from my hotel room is amazing.  There’s a train that runs behind the hotel – not sure if you can see it but the water is all ice!

About merryfwilliams

High school math teacher and mom of 3 amazing kids. I have a high maintenance husky and am adding a knitting obsession to the juggling routine. @merryfwilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday, February 26th – On my way!

  1. A. Wilmoth says:

    Looks awesome. If you meet any of the Era Alaska people, post pictures. Stay warm.

  2. Derek Wasnock says:

    What an amazing adventure you’re on! I’m anxious for the next post.

  3. Kim Payne says:

    I’m soooo jealous! I LOVE the snow…bring some back for me 🙂 Stay warm and have a blast!

  4. Beth Harvey says:

    I am so excited for you and know you are going to have a great time! I can’t wait to read your posts and hear about the trip.

  5. Stephanie Fleming says:

    The first 24 hours are already beyond believable. The amount of snow is hard to grasp and hope you had big fun today. I’ll be checking daily for the next update.

  6. Alexis tromba says:

    Mrs.Williams.
    Glad your having fun in alaska, but we can’t wait for you to come back. Please come back! Haha, hope you have fun watching the race, be careful.

    Alexis
    Tromba

  7. Sara Seaman says:

    I am so jealous of you Mary (about the trip – but not the snow)!!! It was a balmy 60 here today on Virginia’s Eastern Shore :). Stay warm and if you run into Ariel Tweedy, take a pic please – she is John’s favorite Alaskan!

  8. Paula Ward says:

    Loved your post. Can’t wait to hear more about your exciting adventure! Be safe, warm, and have lots of fun!!

Leave a Reply

