Monday, February 27th – Reindeer Sausage & A Sled Dog Ride

Reindeer Sausage??

The day started with a bit of a disappointment as the weather made it impossible to make it to Seward for the Iditaride Exit Glacier trip.  So, I decided to grab breakfast and then head out to explore downtown Anchorage.  The breakfast buffet included something you won’t find in Chesterfield:  reindeer sausage.  I tried a small bite but kept hearing Burl Ives singing, “you know, Dasher, Dancer, Prancer and Vixen . . .” so, I decided I could not eat it but it is very popular here!

 

Fur Rendezvous Festival

After breakfast I put on my brand new boots and headed out into the falling snow.  The hotel is not far from where the Iditarod starting line will occur this weekend, so that was my first stop.  The Fur Rendezvous Festival is going on all this week, and there is a huge banner spanning the street.  The starting line for the Iditarod is right under the banner.

Balto Statue at Iditarod Starting Line

 

On the left side of the street is a statue of Balto, one of the lead dogs in The Great Serum Race of 1925.  Balto was the lead sled dog in the last leg of the relay of dog teams to deliver diptheria vaccine to Nome.  There was quite a bit of controversey over the statue as many felt Togo, Leonhard Seppala’s lead dog, was the true hero of the race as Seppala and Togo covered the longest and most dangerous portion of the relay.

The snow continued to fall as I enjoyed my walk around downtown.  One local told me some areas have received over 36 inches of snow in the past 30 hours! Here’s a pic of Town Square Park and an incredible ice sculpture in the park.

Town Park & Ice Sculpture

I ventured into a Visitor’s Center and picked up a schedule for the Fur Rondy Festival. There are all kinds of activities going on all week long including dog sled rides.  Woohoo!  What a lot of fun!  I have a video but cannot load it directly into the blog without purchasing an upgrade (bummer!).  Soooo, students, I have uploaded it to our Edmodo page, so be sure to check it out!  I’ve also uploaded it to youtube so everyone else can see it – click here.  I loved the sound of the snow beneath the runners while on the sled and hope I have another opportunity to ride while I am here!

 

About merryfwilliams

High school math teacher and mom of 3 amazing kids. I have a high maintenance husky and am adding a knitting obsession to the juggling routine. @merryfwilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Iditarod. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday, February 27th – Reindeer Sausage & A Sled Dog Ride

  1. David Anderson says:

    Soak up the experiences like a Bounty paper towel. I am sooooo happy for you and the opportunity you have been blessed with to visit your dream land. Continue your journey…….Adventure ON

  2. Paulette Markham says:

    Love the new post. The pictures are great! It looks like so much fun. Stay safe. We miss you.
    Paulette

  3. Rebecca says:

    Thanks for keeping us posted. I almost cry everytime I read your updates because I still can’t believe that you get to do this-something you are so passionate about. Did you get to hold the reins?

    • I did!!! I did the dog handling class yesterday and was there at 7:00 a.m. this morning to pick up my official card. There were about 100 of us and I finally got chosen to run with #48 Hank Dubruin. Dog handlers hold the gangline while running to the starting line – it was a bit over a half-mile through this snow that had been treated so it was like running through sand. My chest is still burning but it was AWESOME!!! Having the time of my life!

  4. Stephanie Fleming says:

    Love the pictures and video of sled ride I will watch several times. It looks and sounds so peaceful there. Be careful as you continue on your adventure.

  5. Carolyn Wilkerson says:

    This is so cool!!! Thanks for taking the time to do this blog while you are on this adventure!!

    • Karen Satchell says:

      As my eyes are opened to the Truth that is around me, I accept with equanimity the absence of Justice but keep my focus on breath so that the source of Love will nourish me.

      Will miss you at yoga tomorrow.

  6. Mandy J says:

    Jealous of the dog sled riding

Leave a Reply

