Blog updates

Even though I’ve been back from Alaska for a few weeks, I still have so many more pictures, videos and adventures to share!  It was challenging to find Internet access while in Alaska, and since I’ve been back at school I’ve had plenty of Interent access but very little time to upload!  With Spring Break this week I am hoping to finally get the rest of the Adventure documented!

Thanks!!

About merryfwilliams

High school math teacher and mom of 3 amazing kids. I have a high maintenance husky and am adding a knitting obsession to the juggling routine. @merryfwilliams on Twitter
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog updates

  1. Wow! I really enjoyed reading your Iditarod blog. I am a teacher–2nd grade, but I taught 8th grade Language Arts for 10 years. I have been using Iditarod in my classroom since my first year of teaching in 1997. I am finally going to the Iditarod this year! It looks like I’ll be doing a lot of the same things you did last year, as I’ll be attending some of the conference and volunteering at the start (although not downtown–further down the route). My husband and nine-year old daughter are coming with me. I have a ton of questions as I prepare, but the one that I am wondering about right now is what time would you recommend arriving at the banquet? Thank you for sharing your adventure! Can’t wait to begin mine!

    • I am so excited for you!!! It was such an adventure – I have so many more pictures and memories to add to the blog and need to do that. I went on from the restart to Talkeetna and flew in a tiny plane towards Rainy Pass, got surprised by a snowstorm, made an emergency landing in Skwentna, and hitchhiked a ride on snowmobiles to the Skwentna checkpoint. It was incredible!!! Are you attending the Iditarod Winter Conference? I went with another teacher to the banquet and we got there probably an hour before it started, and I would definitely recommend that so you have plenty of time to take photos and talk to the mushers. Also, be sure to get one of the posters and take some sharpies as the mushers will autograph them for you.

      My email address is mary_williams@ccpsnet.net – PLEASE feel free to email me with any questions!! I wish you the best – I will definitely go back for another Iditarod as it was such an incredible experience!

Leave a comment